Masterworks at the MET


Recently I visited the Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC.


Trying to find cheap/free things to do in New York is hard and so with a small donation towards the museum, your able to view the whole museum! Although there is just so much to be seen, I only got to see the ‘Masterworks:Unpacking Fashion’ at the Costume Institute of the museum, which is only there until February 5th, until a new collection takes over… but I will definitely be back again to see more of the museum.


The collections in the museum change around yearly and I will be back again for the newest collection!

I was literally silent as I viewed this collection as I was in awe and so fascinated by every piece I seen, as some had been worn by famous celebrities and others that have made it in history for the unique pieces.

Most of this collection covers the 19th to 21st century and it was stated that a number of the pieces by the designers, were donated, in honour of Harold Koda, who retired as curator in charge of The Costume Institute last year.

The opening of the collection, stands a beautiful dress by Viktor & Rolf.





Hard to believe that Lady Gaga actually wore some of these shoes!! 

Proudly, one of the only hats on show in this collection was by Irish designer Philip Treacy… I did stare at this masterpiece for quiet a while, amazed of the exquisite detail of the ‘Paphiopedilum Philipinese Orchid Hat’.

I would happily wear this last piece, it was certainly my favourite;)

*One of my favourite ‘free/cheap’ things to do here in NYC*

Kel x

Leave a Reply

